Uncategorized

Grace over Perfection

Hey loves!

On my heart this morning is Grace, the overwhelminging amount of grace that I feel on a day to day basis from my loving Father. But what I realize is I do not extend that same grace to myself and my imperfections. I can ask God all day to give me grace but it doesn’t mean anything unless I truly forgive and grace myself.

Have you ever felt you needed to chase perfection? Maybe thinking it would gain you love, promotion, self-assurance, gifts, etc? I know I have, specifically in the area of love. Now I have always been a “cater to people first before I care for myself” type of person, but in that I have always felt I needed to be perfect in order for someone to truly love me and I still struggle with that fact.

What I have learned is that seeking perfection can become a poison if you allow it, a poison that will cripple your mind and force you into a false sense of self. But grace can help heal and restore you in a way you may have never known.

Perfection says that you will never amount to anything unless you achieve x, y, and z

Grace says you have favor in the Lord, and that though perfection is unreachable you still have purpose and you can still impact lives. No matter your social status, how you feel you look, or what you want to achieve; as long as you are following Gods will for your life you’re OKAY. Your exactly where you need to be.

“Jesus said, my grace us all you need. My power works best in weakness” 2 Corinthians 12:9

“And he gives grace generously. As the Scriptures say, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble” James 4:6

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t strive to grow or progress as you age, I’m saying to stop beating yourself up and comparing your life to others. Yes if your in a bad place make progress, but don’t expect to get it “right” right away, growth takes time and you will never “arrive” but simply evolve. Give yourself some grace and a HUGE hug and simply look in the mirror and say, “I’m proud of you, where you are, right now”.

 

Kayla

 

Leave a Reply

