Uncategorized

What 2014 Has Showed Me: Year Reflection

Hi Honeys’! and Happy New Year!

Let’s talk 2014, oh, what a year it has been. 2014, for me, has been one of the MOST challenging years of my life for many reasons. This is year has taught me so much about myself, finances, love, and trials. There is so much I want to share with you guys so I am going to break it down into some categories, 2014 has taught me:

1. Love is hard work, and what I mean by that is when you have a spouse it is no longer about you. I got married in June of 2014 and my expectations were not what I got, don’t get me wrong, marriage is beautiful and it is truly a gift from the Lord but, if you are SELFISH it can create a ton of obstacles that don’t have to happen. Marriage reveals your true colors to yourself and your spouse. I always thought I was a pretty selfless person (everyone says it lol) and I am, but I do have some selfish tendencies when it comes to what I “feel” like doing and etc. for my spouse I had to take a look at myself and realize that “dying” to yourself daily does mean doing things you don’t feel like doing and it’s truly part of submitting to your spouse. My husband and I had to “learn” each other, even though we were together 2 years prior to our marriage; we had never lived together, slept together, or coexisted in each others space like that. It definitely took some adjusting and a ton of heart to hearts, but just like any person we are constantly growing and learning what works best for us and how we structure our life together.images

2. Be content with yourself, life, and season as it is. There are going to be hard times, it’s inevitable. Sometimes you are going to want to scream, cry, throw things, cuss, etc but instead of acting out of anger, reflect on what God has done already. This year was a hard year for me emotionally, so many things went wrong and I grew up spoiled rotten so things going wrong really rub me the wrong way lol. My husband and I faced a huge smack in the face financially and it hit us really hard and brought us to a very low point but all we had was God and each other ultimately and that’s really what we needed. Did we fight? Yes, Did we want to give up? Yes, but we didn’t. We used that time to bring us closer together as a couple no matter how hard that was to do. Hard times should make you cling closer to God, Good times should make you cling even closer to him, do not let the high times cloud your mind to where you think you don’t need God. You always need him, remember he is good in the good, bad, ugly, and uglier. He will never leave nor forsake you and though you can’t see it, he is working EVERYTHING out for your good. Trust him

3. Don’t be afraid to be yourself, have you ever felt like you needed to be like someone else to meet the approval of others? If so, I have news for you, DO NOT worry about other people and what they think. We were not made to be a carbon copy of nobody, we were intentionally made unique because we all have unique purposes set out for us. I used to think that I wasn’t “good enough” to hang with certain people and after awhile I though, “If those people don’t like me for who I am then WHY would I try to impress them?”. People who are truly for you will be there for you in every season and rock with you through the bad times. So be uniquely you and don’t try to copy someone else you “think” you should be like.

 Reflection_in_a_soap_bubble_edit

2014 was a year of beautiful days, hard days, epiphanies, and beginnings. Though it was hard, I wouldn’t change it because then I wouldn’t have grown into the person I am now, which I am always developing and learning. 2015 is going to be a BIG year, I can feel it and I have so much in store for you guys this next year. I pray that you all have a SAFE and amazing NYE! If you could describe what your goal(s) is for 2015 what would it be? How will you represent your New Year? Share below

I will be sharing my 2015 goals in my next post 😉

Love ya’ll,

Kayla

Leave a Reply

